Feeding the Hunger Monster


After yesterday’s 10 mile run (and the 985 calories my Garmin said I burned while running), all I could think about was eating some good carbs for dinner. Potato gnocchi? I think that’ll do nicely.

Once I decided on gnocchi, dinner was ready in no time. I just heated up some alfredo sauce (cut with a tbsp or two of olive oil) and threw in some leftover peppers, tomatoes, and chickpeas.

Cooking the gnocchi…you know they are done when they start to float!

Any finally, dinner was served!

Enjoyed with a Sam Adams beer (hey, it has carbs too!).

The gnocchi and beer was exactly what I wanted. Filling, but not too heavy. However, they didn’t keep me too full, for I was still able to enjoy some chocolate from Sitka, Alaska.

I was expecting the chocolate to be your basic crunch bar with those rice krispie things. I was surprised to discover that it instead had raisins and pecans! So much better in my opinion. The boyfriend and I shared about 1/3 of the bar.

Jump to today…

Early this morning, in the wee hours between 3-5 AM, I woke up starving! This is not the first time this has happened. I chalked it up to not eating enough yesterday, so I ate some Annie’s Bunnies. I went back to sleep.

Somehow, I woke up 2-3 more times before my alarm went off with uncontrollable hunger! The second time, I ate some more Annie’s Bunnies. The third time, I got up and ate a banana. I woke up for good about an hour or so after eating the banana, and my stomach was growling for more food!

I ate a large piece of pumpkin apple banana streusel bread and then ate this pineapple Chobani yogurt.

I wish I could say that the hunger monster was satisfied by then. It wasn’t. Lunch was served a little early–basic PB&J with some carrots and hummus.

Since lunch, I’ve drank a lot of water and eaten a bag of Baked Lays, some crackers, some more Annie’s Bunnies, and another slice of pumpkin apple banana streusel bread (jeez, I really need to make that name shorter!). It seems like whatever I try to eat, the hunger monster is not satisfied. My stomach has been gnawing at me all day. So either I didn’t fuel up properly after my run yesterday or I have an ulcer…. Let’s hope that it isn’t the latter!

Time for dinner. We’ll see if I can beat this hunger monster for good!

What sort of foods do you eat when the hunger monster lingers?

Leave a Reply

